Nous recourons aux cookies (ou témoins de connexion) afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation possible sur notre site web. Découvrez comment nous utilisons les cookies et comment vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres.

2012 Nobel Peace Prize award ceremony: Oslo calling

© Plantu


On 12 October 2012, the Norwegian Nobel Prize Committee announced its decision to award this year's Nobel Peace Prize to the European Union (EU), for advancing the causes of peace, reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe. EU representatives will be presented with the Prize at a ceremony in Oslo on Monday 10 December.

The presidents of three of the EU's major institutions will all make the trip to Oslo to collect the prize on behalf of the EU. They will be accompanied by representatives from EU institutions and EU social partners.

The award ceremony's youngest participants will be the four winners of the youth drawing and writing contest "Peace, Europe, Future" organised by the EU to mark the occasion: Ana from Spain, Elena from Italy, Ilona from Poland and Larkin from Malta. On launching the contest, Presidents Barroso, Schulz and Van Rompuy stated that the "2012 Nobel Peace prize is not only a recognition of the European Union's past achievements: it also looks to the future. Our task is always to inspire the next generation of Europeans. That is why we want Europe's youth with us in Oslo".

In addition to the ceremony, which will take place at 13.00, the programme also includes a torchlight procession through the streets of Oslo and a banquet following the ceremony.

Several cultural activities are also on the agenda, including a special concert featuring world-famous artists which will surely be one of the most impressive moments for our four contest winners!

The highly regarded Nobel Peace Prize was first awarded in 1901. This year's prize money - some 8 million Swedish crowns - will be made available to projects for children living in war-torn areas.


More information: