We use cookies to ensure we give you the best browsing experience on our website. Find out more on how we use cookies and how you can change your settings.

Secretary-General handover

Uwe Corsepius and Pierre de Boissieu
© European Union, 2011


Uwe Corsepius took over from Pierre de Boissieu as the Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union on 26 June 2011. He is the new head of the General Secretariat of the Council, which assists both the European Council (heads of state and government) and the Council (ministers).

Mr Corsepius was European policy advisor to German Chancellor Angela Merkel from 2006 to February 2011, and subsequently served as economic and financial policy advisor to the Chancellor.

Mr de Boissieu was Secretary-General from 1 December 2009 after serving a period as Deputy Secretary-General from October 1999 to 30 November 2009.

The Secretary-General is appointed by a decision of the Council.

The office of Secretary-General has been held by six predecessors: Christian Calmes, Nicolas Hommel, Niels Ersbøll, Jürgen Trumpf, Javier Solana and Pierre de Boissieu.

Further information:
Uwe Corsepius's Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Council decision appointing the Secretary-General of the Council (pdf)